Club Championships

 (Full prizelist)

For the last championship series of the season, the flying fifteen and laser fleet champions had already been decided, but the following places up were for grabs

2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th in the Flying 15s
2nd and 3rd in the Lasers
1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th in the GP14s

The unsettled forecast proved correct and Saturday produced some steady southerly winds, dampened by a few showers. However, this did not dampen the enthusiasm of the fleets. The adrenalin was also high due to some crews who had not realised that the start time was earlier then usual.

In the flying fifteen fleet, Scott Beattie (Beverly) had already won the championship, so let his crew, John Somerville (Carlisle) take the helm. William Curruthers (Carlisle) was second in the championship and could only be beaten if Mike and Christina Moore (Preston) took five first places this weekend. Unfortunately, Mike and Christina were among the latecomers and never caught the rest of the fleet in the first race. John had an excellent start and was almost first round the windward mark. However, John’s wife Wendy, sailing with Elaine Fairlamb (Deanscales) was also battling for first place at the mark. John decided he wanted his tea and Wendy led the race. Wanting to prove how good a helm he is, John never gave up and pulled back the place to win the race. In the second race, Mike and Christina led from the start, but again John pulled through to win.

In the GP14 fleet, Dave and Lynne Lawson (Kendal) needed two first places to take the title. They have been sailing superbly since the middle of the season when they joined the fleet. Mike Fairlamb (Deanscales) and Mike Cowan (Maryport) had led the championship almost from the start of the season needed one more first place to win the championship. Further down the field, only two points separated Julian and Jane Cruickshank (Bolton), Ginge and Jose Hodgkins (Brigham) and Hugh Godfrey with Rhonwen Bryce (Whitehaven). This is the closest end to the GP14 championship for a few years. In almost predictable form, Dave and Lynne led from the start in both races to take the places they needed to win the championship. Lynne has done exceptionally well considering this is her first season in a boat. Mike and Mike took a second and third place, alternating with Julian and Jane. In the strong winds, Richard and Philip Hodgkins did very well to finish the first race without capsizing and finish with a very respectable championship position.

The gales forecast on Sunday did not materialise and the officer of the day, Hugh Godfrey, did very well to avoid most of the showers during the races. The first race saw John and Scott win the fifteen series. Behind them, William sailing with Rhonwen had been in second place, but the last leg proved their downfall when several places changed and Ian Campbell (Papcastle) with Tony Fisher (Carlisle) were second over the line. John also won the fourth race, but in the final race, Ian led from the start to avoid John getting a clean sweep.

In the GP14 fleet, Dave and Lynne again proved that they are worthy champioins, although they were pursued closely for most of the last race. Mike and Mike, Julian and Jane, Tim Knowles with Philip Hodgkins (both Brigham) and Ginge and Jose were all battling closely for the other places. There was considerable tactical play with everyone trying to steal everyone else’s wind. Mike and Mike took the three second places. The last two races, although not significant for the series and club championship, did decide the handicap championship. Julian and Jane, and Ginge and Jose had identical points for the fifteen races to count. Each took a first place on handicap, so discards were taken into account and Ginge and Jose were winners.