62nd AGM

At the 62nd Annual General Meeting held in the Clubhouse on Sunday 1st December 2013 there was some healthy discussions surrounding the various reports and proposed rule changes.

The main points that were agreed:

  • Subscriptions to rise by approx 2% from 1st January
  • Payment of subscriptions by instalments has been formalised with introduction of direct debits
  • Associate membership category withdrawn
  • Rule regarding supervision of Junior members during training courses has been amended, but details will be appropriately defined by use of Bye-Laws

Prior to all that the following members were elected on to Council.

Commodore Andy Smith
Vice-Commodore Mark Somerville
Secretary Pauline Nicholson
Treasurer William Carruthers
Sailing Secretary Jon Denwood
Rear Commodore Stephen Kirkpatrick
Asst Sailing Secretary Lezli-Ann Pearson
Bar Eric/Tania Guillois
Boats & Buoys Phil Davenport
Galley – Lucy Thomas
Grounds & JettiesMike Cowan
HouseAlan Jones
MembershipDave Lawson
PRO Robin Dawson
Training Neil Garrison
Safety Peter Ballard
Social Claire Duncan

Fleet Captains
Flying 15 Graham Kirkpatrick
GP14Mike Fairlamb
Mirror Mik Chappell
Handicap Phil Davenport/Peter Ballard
Topper/Laser Neil Garrison

After the main business of the meeting there was an open discussion with a focus on whether personal handicap racing encourages sailing or not.