RYA North West Junior Traveller Trophy

On Saturday 7 May Bassenthwaite hosted a round of the RYA North West Junior Travellers Trophy. Among the 14 sailors there were visitors from as far afield as Leigh & Lowton. The day was much warmer than recently with sun and a nice North Easterly F3. There were plenty of shifts and gusts to challenge the competitors, some capsizes, and much good sailing for many.

Harvey Leigh from Leigh & Lowton with Drew Gibbons were first Juniors, giving an impressive display of asymmetric sailing by winning two races in their RS Feva, and even finished 4th in the first race, despite a lengthy capsize. Special prizes were awarded to Pier Pello, Gee Moss & Walter Keegan from Sedbergh School in a 2000, for last finisher who completed all three races. Josh Hunter from Bassenthwaite was awarded the Endeavour prize for cheerfully singing his way around the course despite numerous capsizes. 1st under 14 sailor and 3rd overall was Theo Stewart in his RS Tera Sport. Top Bassenthwaite performers were Hazel Newport (Cockermouth) 2nd in the Junior Fleet in her Laser 4.7, and Ethan Dawson, 1st in the youth fleet in his laser radial.