Sunday Racing

The day started off bright but with a light north westerly, and numerous calm patches of water. Racing did get underway on time, and the wind filled in a bit more for a while, but faded before the end as it started to swing to a westerly. It was Mr and Mrs Bean in their RS200 that broke well away to win the morning race from Jim Christie in a Supernova and Joe Watkins sailing well in a laser. Mike Moore and Kayla continue to dominate the Blencathra Trophy for FFs, as do Mike Fairlamb and Eric in the GPs, each securing another win. Andy Smith, crewed by Katia, took the honours from Alan Waugh in the Mirrors.

The afternoon race was a pennant in aid of the Calvert Trust, and as ever took the fleet down the lake. With winds being lighter, the OD took pity and only sent them as far as mark 11 at Bassenthwaite church. The wind having swung back towards the north again resulted in the wind being steadier than expected, but also meant that the fleets were relatively close together at the leeward mark. Neil Garrison in his Dart led to the leeward mark, closely followed by Roy Blackburn in his Vareo then Mike Moore. The beat back slowed down the Dart leaving Mike first and Roy second, even after the personal handicaps were calculated.

The Youth Squad have been out again this weekend. Luke Howarth won Saturday’s racing, while Cristina Tully and Ethan shared the honours with a race each in the Sunday series

Sunny Saturday

Sun though with a cool westerly breeze was the order of the day. Racing started with a Celebrity Glass pursuit, and although leading, Mike Fairlamb with Eric Smith, misread the course and the lead passed over to Tim Chittenden with Ian Macpherson crewing.

The second race was some of the championship long series. Toggle again suffered some rig failure and had to retire. Sam Hall in a laser won from Tim Chittenden and William Carruthers with Elaine Hunt in the RS400