Author: webmaster

Sailing Away

Izzie and Harry arriving for a voyage on training ship James Cook.

Proud mum received some communication ‘having great time, don’t text me!…’

Day 2

Harry and Izzie are now in Campletown having left Whitehaven last night. This is not the first such trip as a group of young people from the club went to Scotland in the distant past (in the 1980s?)… Read full article “Sailing Away”

Glorious Evening for a Sail

A superb turnout of 25 participants in the Ladies, Seniors, Juniors and Crews race were met with wall to wall sunshine and a true South Westerly force 3 wind. The OD, Jonathan Anson, decided there was no need to move the Committee Boat from its mooring and set a line with a beat to 8 followed by a broad reach to A another reach to 1 and a tight reach back to 0 which was moved close to the flying fifteen moorings.… Read full article “Glorious Evening for a Sail”

WLYC 24hr Race

Better known as Southport 24 hr race, it is a fantastic event that Bassenthwaite sailors have a long history of participation, twice winning and numerous top ten positions. For those that don’t know the format, teams sailing either GPs, Enterprises, Fireflys or Larks circumnavigate Southport Marine Lake for 24hrs, helms & crews change over during the period, trying to complete as many laps as possible.… Read full article “WLYC 24hr Race”

Night Jar 7

Most competitors agreed that this was the best NJ round to date. There was sunshine, a constant f4 wind and a superb course which made the most of it. The beat was 4-0 followed by four kite legs 0-9-1-3-4.

There was even an inadvertent sting in the tail as the port end start line pin was exactly upwind of 4 and a number of boats ended up head to wind when making for it.… Read full article “Night Jar 7”