61st AGM

At the 61st Annual General Meeting held in the Clubhouse on Sunday 1st December 2012 there were several important proposals to be considered, and they stimulated extensive discussions.

The main points that were agreed:

  • Subscriptions to rise by 5% from 1st January
  • Affiliated membership amended to be aligned with other categories, though at a discounted rate
  • Rules re visitors and temporary members brought into line with current licensing laws
  • Bye-law introduced prohibiting members/visitors bringing their own alcohol into the clubhouse while the bar is open
  • On dissolution, the remaining assets of the club to be transferred to RYA (or equivalent) for the benefit of sailing in Cumbria

Prior to all that the following members were elected on to Council.

Commodore Andy Smith
Vice-Commodore Mark Somerville
Secretary Pauline Nicholson
Treasurer William Carruthers
Sailing Secretary Roy Blackburn
Rear Commodore Stephen Kirkpatrick
Asst Sailing Secretary Lezli-Ann Pearson
Bar Elaine Hunt
Boats & Buoys Stephen Hunt
Galley – Becky Dawson
Grounds & JettiesMike Cowan
HouseAlan Jones
MembershipDave Lawson
PRO Dave Nicholson
Training Neil Garrison
Safety Peter Ballard
Social Claire Duncan
Youth Squad Des Wright

Fleet Captains
Flying 15 Ian Preston
GP14Mike Fairlamb
Mirror Mik Chappell
Handicap Steve Hunt
Topper Ethan Dawson

At the end of the meeting Andy proposed a vote of thanks to Stephen before he flew off for a well earned holiday.