Youth Squad Prize Giving

As a prelude to the bonfire night celebrations, the first prize giving for the youth squad was held this evening

Vice Commodore Dave Nicholson gave a short speech outlining the (short) history of the squad, and prizes were given out by his wife Pauline. There was one consistent and outstanding winner for the season, Jo Watkins who won the Kirkpatrick Prize (Youth Championship winner), Watson Shield (Saturday Series), Rhonwen Bryce Youth Cup (Sunday Series), Night Jar A Youth Tankard, and Night Jar B Youth Tankard (Thursday evening series)

Jo receiving the Kirkpatrick Prize from Graham Kirkpatrick (son of the couple that donated the prize to the Club in 1964)

The Lucca Trophy an endeavour trophy for the young person that was always down here practising and racing went to Ethan Dawson

Unfortunately the rain came in after the prize giving so lighting the bonfire, and the fireworks, proved challenging