GP14 Open


First day of Summer! Somewhat overcast, but the wind doth blow (a bit at least), from the forecast SW direction. The wind is due to pick up later in the afternoon, and give a good blast tomorrow!

The first race was all set for starting on time, until the final couple of minutes before the start when there was 60degree windshift that forced the OD to postpone and rethink. Although the wind continued to blow from the south at the southern end of the lake, the wind in the start area was from the E – NE. After a half hour delay a new course was set and the race got under.

Guess what! The wind picked up during the race with gusts of 25mph. Of course the wind swung back towards the south, so the spinnaker reaches were somewhat testing. Those that tried, more often than not, failed and ended up swimming. The gybe mark proved to be a tough test too, and there were several more capsizes. There were 11 finishers overall.

Races 2 and 3 were sailed back to back, and as the wind increased the numbers dwindled. There were 12 starters and finishers in race 2, and it was John Riley and Nigel Lewis from Bass that showed the way, with Hugh Godfrey and Rhonwen Bryce close on their tail. Perhaps lessons had been learnt from the first race as no-one chanced flying their spinnakers again! There were many white horses by the time the fleet finished, and some opted out of the final race leaving only 8 starters. The first gybe mark proved to be the downfall of several boats, including John Riley, but Hugh stayed upright and took the lead. With rescue boats failing, the committee boat went to the aid of one boat stuck in the mud, and with a small fleet that had numbers reducing there was a bit of a race to get to 0 ahead of the leading boat and shorten the course so that the fleet did not have to sail an additional beat! Hugh stayed ahead to take lead position overnight.

Will that be the final result as the forecast for Sunday is horrendus?


The forecast was right! The wind picked up as the morning went on so the OD opted to abandon for the day. There was an early prize giving and the remaining competitors were able to pack their boats up and get home early.


Sailed:3, Discards:0, To count:3, Entries:17, Scoring system:Standard scoring system
Rank SailNo Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 Total Nett
1st 13905 Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce Bassenthwaite SC 5.0 2.0 1.0 8.0 8.0
2nd 13842 Martin Brennan Alistair Knot Hollingworth Lake SC 1.0 3.0 4.0 8.0 8.0
3rd 13956 Adam McGovern Hannah Mitchell Hollingworth Lake SC 2.0 6.0 2.0 10.0 10.0
4th 13733 Richard Hodgkins Philip Hodgkins Bassenthwaite SC 6.0 4.0 3.0 13.0 13.0
5th 13742 Russell Davies Neil Davies Derwent Reservoir SC 4.0 5.0 DNF 27.0 27.0
6th 13916 John Riley Nigel Lewis Bassenthwaite SC 11.0 1.0 DNF 30.0 30.0
7th 13176 David Lawson Lynn Lawson Bassenthwaite SC DNF 7.0 5.0 30.0 30.0
8th 13791 Julie Waddington Chris Waddington Bolton SC 3.0 10.0 DNC 31.0 31.0
9th 13946 Pete Bramwell Dave O’Callaghan Hollingworth Lake SC 7.0 9.0 DNC 34.0 34.0
10th 13880 Mandy Mitchell Jon Close Winsford Flash SC 9.0 8.0 DNF 35.0 35.0
11th 13885 Mike Fairlamb Eric Smith Bassenthwaite SC 8.0 11.0 DNC 37.0 37.0
12th 13862 James Downes Judith Downes Budworth SC 10.0 12.0 DNC 40.0 40.0
13th 13694 Gareth Hughes Lauren McGuiness Hollingworth Lake SC DNF DNC DNC 54.0 54.0
13th 13740 Mary Cunningham Sheena Davies West Kirby SC DNF DNC DNC 54.0 54.0
13th 13867 Dave Nicholson Sarah Nicholson Bassenthwaite SC DNF DNC DNC 54.0 54.0
13th 13118 Val Bell Ken Bell Bassenthwaite SC DNF DNC DNC 54.0 54.0
13th 13762 Stan Van Den Berg Angela Price West Kirby SC DNF DNC DNC 54.0 54.0

Overall winners Hugh Godfrey and Rhonwen Bryce with Elaine Hunt