Whit Bank Holiday 2024

Sunshine and a SE breeze tempted a fleet of 45 boats on to the water to compete for the Mark Ninnim memorial trophy.

Taking advantage of the wind direction a course was set to mark 7 at Scarness, so it was slightly worrying when the F2 eased shortly after the first start, but it returned, then faded again during the finishing sequence. On corrected time, Caroline/Dave Exley in a RS400 took the first win just 11 secs ahead of Dave/Lynn Lawson in their GP.

The next race had a shorter main beat to 8, and started in light airs, but filled in within a few minutes. On handicap Dave/Lynn beat Chris/Evie Pickles in a RS200 by 8 secs, winning the trophy, with Matt/Oliver Sharman in Laser 2000 2nd overall having secured two 3rds.

Mark Ninnim memorial overall results

The weekend series being held over Sunday and Monday will have a separate series for asymmetric boats using windward/leeward course .

On Sunday the weather was very similar to Saturday but with drizzle instead of any sunshine!

The wind dropped over the lunch break, and the forecast wasn’t looking promising for it to return, but it did (fortunately!). Despite there not being a lot of wind Caroline had the opportunity to practice righting her capsized boat!

At the end of the race there was a 120 degree shift to the west so the start line was relocated for a short, manageable, windward/leeward course for the third and final race of the day. As the wind did drop yet again, the short course proved to be a sensible option!

Monday was overcast but generally dry with a SW F3-4, the best wind of the weekend. The wind was as shifty as ever, and eased slightly towards the end of the morning race, but there were numerous opportunities for planing, and several boats capsized throughout the course of the day.

In the F15s, Andy Tunicliffe/Ian Hopwood won both races, with Robin Dawson/Mike Cowan runners up, but their results overall earned them the Scarness Cup, with Ian Campbell/Lezliann Pearson/Ian Preston 2nd overall.

The GPs did not race, so Val/Ken Bell won the Graham Cup, with AJ/Sue Watson 2nd.

Matt/Oliver Sharman and Mark Somerville/Neil Campbell each won a race in the asymmetric fleet, but it was Chris/Evie Pickles that won overall with three wins from Sunday, Matt/Oliver were 2nd.

Dave/Lynn Lawson sailed in the non asymmetric handicap fleet, and won the Wythop series with four wins. Guy Wheeler/Elaine Ross were on equal points with Andy Smith, but beat him on tie break.

Four wins for Phil/Lucy Smith won them the Reflection trophy, with Alex/Saskia Leonard 2nd.

Final results